Tripura Sundari - Shiva

Time News in 2013

Recent news related to time, time zone and daylight saving time

April 7, 2013: Australia and New Zealand will switch to standard time

Published: 10th Mar 2013

Rangatira or South-East Island from Glory on Pitt Island, NZ

Australia and New Zealand will fall back to standard time on Sunday, April 7, 2013 at 3:00 am. On that moment the clocks will be switched backwards by an hour to 2:00 am.

There are areas in Australia that do not follow daylight saving time (DST), so the areas that observe DST will switch their clocks one hour backwards.

Areas in Australia that follow DST

Below is a list of states in Australia that do observe daylight saving time. In these areas the clocks will be switched on April 7, 2013 at 3:00 am.

  • Australian Capital Territory - Canberra
  • New South Wales - Sydney
  • South Australia - Adelaide
  • Tasmania - Hobart
  • Victoria - Melbourne
  • Lord Howe Island (time change is 30 min instead of an hour)

All parts of New Zealand follow daylight saving time. Only exception in the time change schedule is the Chatham Islands, where the shift happens at 3:45 am. The clocks will be moved one hour backwards to 2:45 am.