World Time Zones

Updated: 12th May 2016

Standard Time Zones of the World

World time zones are listed below according to time zones' standard time. During example locations' daylight saving time these time zones are off by one hour. Example times and dates are according to ISO 8601 notation.

Time zones
Example time
(ISO 8601 notation)
Example locations
(during standard time)
UTC-12:00 2017-12-10T12:16:43 -12:00 International Date Line West

Baker Island (USA, uninhabited)
Howland Island (USA, uninhabited)
UTC-11:00 2017-12-10T13:16:43 -11:00 Alofi (Niue)
Midway Island (USA)
Pago Pago (American Samoa)
UTC-10:00 2017-12-10T14:16:43 -10:00 Hawaii, Aleutian Islands (USA)
Most of French Polynesia
UTC-09:30 2017-12-10T14:46:43 -09:30 Marquesas Islands (French Polynesia)
UTC-09:00 2017-12-10T15:16:43 -09:00 Alaska (USA)
Gambier Islands (French Polynesia)
UTC-08:00 2017-12-10T16:16:43 -08:00 Pacific Time (USA and Canada)
Pacific Time (Mexico)
UTC-07:00 2017-12-10T17:16:43 -07:00 Mountain Time (USA and Canada)
Mountain Time (Mexico)
UTC-06:00 2017-12-10T18:16:43 -06:00 Central Time (USA and Canada)
Central Time (Mexico)

Galápagos Islands (Ecuador)
Guatemala City (Guatemala)
Managua (Nicaragua)
San Jose (Costa Rica)
San Salvador (El Salvador)
Tegucigalpa (Honduras)
UTC-05:00 2017-12-10T19:16:43 -05:00 Eastern Time (USA and Canada)

Bogota (Colombia)
Havana (Cuba)
Kingston (Jamaica)
Lima (Peru)
Panama City (Panama)
Port-au-Prince (Haiti)
Quito (Ecuador)
UTC-04:00 2017-12-10T20:16:43 -04:00 Atlantic Time (Canada)

Asunción (Paraguay)
Caracas (Venezuela)
La Paz (Bolivia)
Manaus (Brazil)
Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago)
San Juan (Puerto Rico)
Santiago (Chile)
Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic)
UTC-03:30 2017-12-10T20:46:43 -03:30 Newfoundland (Canada)
UTC-03:00 2017-12-10T21:16:43 -03:00 Brasilia, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo (Brazil)
Buenos Aires (Argentina)
Montevideo (Uruguay)
Nuuk (Greenland)
Stanley (Falkland Islands)
UTC-02:00 2017-12-10T22:16:43 -02:00 Mid-Atlantic

King Edward Point (South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands)
Villa dos Remedios (Fernando de Noronha)
UTC-01:00 2017-12-10T23:16:43 -01:00 Azores (Portugal)
Praia (Cape Verde)
UTC±00:00 2017-12-11T00:16:43 +00:00 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)
Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

In Europe:
Dublin (Ireland)
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Lisbon, Madeira (Portugal)
London (UK)
Reykjavik (Iceland)
Tórshavn (Faroe Islands)

In Africa:
Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire)
Accra (Ghana)
Canary Islands (Spain)
Casablanca (Morocco)
Dakar (Senegal)
El Aaiún (Western Sahara)
Monrovia (Liberia)
UTC+01:00 2017-12-11T01:16:43 +01:00 In Central Europe:
Amsterdam (Netherlands)
Belgrade (Serbia)
Berlin (Germany)
Bern (Switzerland)
Bratislava (Slovakia)
Brussels (Belgium)
Budapest (Hungary)
Copenhagen (Denmark)
Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Madrid (Spain)
Oslo (Norway)
Paris (France)
Prague (Czech Republic)
Pristina (Kosovo)
Rome (Italy)
Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Skopje (Macedonia)
Stockholm (Sweden)
Tirana (Albania)
Valletta (Malta)
Vienna (Austria)
Warsaw (Poland)
Zagreb (Croatia)

In West Central Africa:
Abuja (Nigeria)
Algiers (Algeria)
Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Libreville (Gabon)
Luanda (Angola)
Niamey (Niger)
Porto-Novo (Benin)
Tunis (Tunisia)
Windhoek (Namibia)
Yaoundé (Cameroon)
UTC+02:00 2017-12-11T02:16:43 +02:00 In East Europe:
Athens (Greece)
Bucharest (Romania)
Chișinău (Moldova)
Helsinki (Finland)
Istanbul (Turkey)
Jerusalem (Israel)
Kiev (Ukraine)
Nicosia (Cyprus)
Riga (Latvia)
Sofia (Bulgaria)
Tallinn (Estonia)
Tripoli (Libya)
Vilnius (Lithuania)

In Africa and Asia:
Amman (Jordan)
Beirut (Lebanon)
Cairo (Egypt)
Damascus (Syria)
Harare (Zimbabwe)
Kaliningrad (Russia)
Lilongwe (Malawi)
Lusaka (Zambia)
Maputo (Mozambique)
Mbabane (Swaziland)
Pretoria (South Africa)
UTC+03:00 2017-12-11T03:16:43 +03:00 In East Europe and Asia:
Baghdad (Iraq)
Kuwait City (Kuwait)
Minsk (Belarus)
Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
Sana'a (Yemen)

In Africa:
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)
Antananarivo (Madagascar)
Asmara (Eritrea)
Djibouti (Djibouti)
Dodoma (Tanzania)
Juba (South Sudan)
Kampala (Uganda)
Khartoum (Sudan)
Mogadishu (Somalia)
Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd (Russia)
Nairobi (Kenya)
UTC+03:30 2017-12-11T03:46:43 +03:30 Tehran (Iran)
UTC+04:00 2017-12-11T04:16:43 +04:00 Abu Dhabi (UAE)
Baku (Azerbaijan)
Muscat (Oman)
Port Louis (Mauritius)
Tbilisi (Georgia)
Victoria (Seychelles)
Yerevan (Armenia)
UTC+04:30 2017-12-11T04:46:43 +04:30 Kabul (Afghanistan)
UTC+05:00 2017-12-11T05:16:43 +05:00 Islamabad, Karachi (Pakistan)
Malé (Maldives)
Tashkent (Uzbekistan)
Yekaterinburg (Russia)
UTC+05:30 2017-12-11T05:46:43 +05:30 Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi (India)
Sri Jayawardenepura (Sri Lanka)
UTC+06:00 2017-12-11T06:16:43 +06:00 Astana, Almaty (Kazakhstan)
Dhaka (Bangladesh)
Novosibirsk (Russia)
Thimphu (Bhutan)
UTC+06:30 2017-12-11T06:46:43 +06:30 Yangon (Myanmar)
UTC+07:00 2017-12-11T07:16:43 +07:00 Bangkok (Thailand)
Hanoi (Vietnam)
Jakarta (Indonesia)
Krasnoyarsk (Russia)
UTC+08:00 2017-12-11T08:16:43 +08:00 Beijing, Chongqing, Urumqi (China)
Hong Kong
Irkutsk (Russia)
Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)
Perth (Australia)
Singapore
Taipei (Taiwan)
Ulan Bator (Mongolia)
UTC+09:00 2017-12-11T09:16:43 +09:00 Dili (East Timor)
Osaka, Sapporo, Tokyo (Japan)
Seoul (South Korea)
Yakutsk (Russia)
UTC+09:30 2017-12-11T09:46:43 +09:30 Adelaide, Darwin (Australia)
UTC+10:00 2017-12-11T10:16:43 +10:00 Hagåtña (Guam)
Hobart, Melbourne, Canberra (Australia)
Sydney, Brisbane (Australia)
Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea)
Vladivostok (Russia)
UTC+11:00 2017-12-11T11:16:43 +11:00 Honiara (Solomon Islands)
Kingston (Norfolk Island)
Nouméa (New Caledonia)
Magadan (Russia)
UTC+12:00 2017-12-11T12:16:43 +12:00 Auckland, Wellington (New Zealand)
Majuro (Marshall Islands)
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (Russia)
Suva (Fiji)
Tarawa (Kiribati)
UTC+12:45 2017-12-11T13:01:43 +12:45 Waitangi (Chatham Islands)
UTC+13:00 2017-12-11T13:16:43 +13:00 Apia (Samoa)
Atafu (Tokelau)
Nuku'alofa (Tonga)
Phoenix Islands (Kiribati)
UTC+14:00 2017-12-11T14:16:43 +14:00 Line Islands (Kiribati)

15 Degrees Longitude

One time zone is 15 degrees longitude and there are 24 of them. A full circle, 360 degrees, divided by 24 as the number of hours in a day results 15 degrees. The time difference between two time zones next to each other in the 24 hour system is one hour.

A few countries do not follow a time zone according to their physical location. They may have chosen another time zone that is more purposeful related to their current politics, business partners or just for the ease of use. One of the 'ease of use' examples is China which follows one time zone in a land area that crosses five time zones.

Standard time zones of the world

Standard time zones of the world.


40 Time Zones

Altogether there are 40 time zones that are offsets from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) by a whole number of hours from UTC-12 to UTC+14 or which are offsets of 30 or 45 minutes. Some countries use daylight saving time (DST) during the summer months to move the first light hour from the morning to the afternoon. This method saves energy by reducing the need for artificial lighting and increases a possibility for outdoor activities in the afternoons since the sun sets an hour later.